6th EPC World Awards

The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi

The 6th EPC World Awards in association with PricewaterhouseCoopers and Zee Business happened on 18th January, 2017 at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi. The Awards were supported by national and international industry associations: BAI (Builders Association of India), VDMA (Verband Deutscher Maschinen – und Anlagenbau – German Engineering Federation), INSDAG (Institute for Steel Development and Growth) and ACCE (Association of Consulting Civil Engineers). The EPC World Awards recognize and award industry projects and infrastructure companies and academia for outstanding contribution to the sector.

Shri Suresh Prabhu (Hon’ble Minister of Railways) and Dr. Narendra Nath Pandey (Hon’ble Minister of State for Human Resource Development: MoS – HRD) were Chief Guests at the event. Dr. Pandey, during felicitation ceremony, appreciated the efforts of the infrastructure industry towards nation-building.

The Organizing Committee and Jury of the EPC World Group unanimously recognized Adani Institute of Infrastructure Management (AIIM) with industry honor for its academic contribution in the infrastructure and construction sector as “Emerging Institute for Infrastructure Management” in special achievements category during the 6th edition of EPC World Awards at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi.

Dr. Diptiranjan Mahapatra, Head – Academics, AIIM was invited to speak at the Event on “Infrastructure Outlook for 2017”. He elaborated, “While 2016 saw most of the policy interventions – Hybrid Annuity Model, TOT (toll-operate-transfer), RERA Bill, LARR 2013, REITs, InvITs, Major Port Bill, Revenue sharing in Oil & Gas, etc. – either in place or soon to be, 2017 should bring fruition to all these initiatives.  Eventually, what government has been and should be trying to do is to own the implementation risk i.e. the ‘build’ part and invite the private sector especially the infrastructure-focused funds and pension funds  to do the manage part. Additionally, the infrastructure sector should expect disruptions, especially in the EPC space”. His speech was well received by the dignitaries and delegates in attendance.

Hon’ble HRD Minister, Dr. Pandey, congratulated the Institute and encouraged the AIIM team to “make the nation proud”.

Other Awardees at the Event included IRB Infrastructure, Tata Projects, ITD Cementations, JUSCO Ltd, IL & FS, Reliance Infrastructure, Caterpillar Cargo, et al. The lifetime achievement award went to Dr. GVK Reddy, Founder Chairman and MD, GVK Group.

Photo Gallery